East Africa
I am new to Blitzortnung and we would like to build a small (5 nodes?) network in East Africa (Kenya, Uganda & Rwanda). We do this from Delft University of Technology, Netherlands. It seems there are not too many stations in that part of the world. Would this be of interest to others as well?
Best - Nick van de Giesen
Hello Nick,
I think you should contact Egon Wanke directly regarding setting up an east African network. Only two considerations from my side: the minimum of stations required to register a valid stroke is 8 in Amerika and 11 in Europe. So 5 would be a bit on the low side. Since these stations would be quite some dístance from each other, you would probably go for coverage and detection efficiency and not for very accurate location of each stroke. In this case, using the system with the optional low-pass filters is useful. With them you can cut out all frequencies say above 25 kHz which are useless anyway for long-range detection, but you would loose a bit of location accuracy, as I learned from Egon.
Stations: 1836
(2017-10-30, 11:31)pasense Wrote: Thanks, we will up our ambition to ten stations.... We would be happy to talk to Egon Wanke!

Hello Nick,
I think you should contact Egon Wanke directly regarding setting up an east African network. Only two considerations from my side: the minimum of stations required to register a valid stroke is 8 in Amerika and 11 in Europe. So 5 would be a bit on the low side. Since these stations would be quite some dístance from each other, you would probably go for coverage and detection efficiency and not for very accurate location of each stroke. In this case, using the system with the optional low-pass filters is useful. With them you can cut out all frequencies say above 25 kHz which are useless anyway for long-range detection, but you would loose a bit of location accuracy, as I learned from Egon.