Blitzortung.org Forum

Full Version: New Project Blue request form?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I am new here, so this question might have been asked before.Smile

Isnt the country of the one that requests is a little too vague. Wouldn't it be better to make something similar to Google Forms where users could input where they could set up the station with low but higher-than-country accuracy? Then you could select the areas which has the most need for new stations and narrow down the requests.

I have no experience with how the distribution of stations works at all, mostly wondering.
(2020-06-10, 18:25)7rst1 Wrote: [ -> ]Isnt the country of the one that requests is a little too vague. Wouldn't it be better to make something similar to Google Forms where users could input where they could set up the station with low but higher-than-country accuracy? Then you could select the areas which has the most need for new stations and narrow down the requests.

I have no experience with how the distribution of stations works at all, mostly wondering.

Requests for stations are made at http://en.blitzortung.org/cover_your_area.php, and get added to a list. The following is my current understanding of the situation.

A few months ago, Egon announced that he would look at that list and give preference to requests from areas of the world that don't have enough receiving stations, regardless of the chronological order of the requests.

What country are you located in, and what area of it do you propose setting up a new station? Some countries are so saturated (like Germany) that no station will be shipped there.

This may change at some point. I suggest that you search here for posts made by either Egon, Tobi, or one of the moderators (especially Cutty) because I may be wrong or leaving out details.