Lightning Data Access
Hello there.

I'm a college student in my senior year looking to complete my research to acquire my degree.  My research project revolves around lightning strike forecasting and the verification of those forecasting products.  I'm looking for a way to access the lightning strike database this community has built over the years.  I see that I can pull down some imagery of the various strikes, but I really would like to have the raw strike data so that I may plot it versus another data source.

It looks like only contributors are allowed access to this data.  My question is do I need to have an active lightning detector to be a contributor or can I donate towards the cause?  I've been wanting a System BLUE for some time now and I'm on the waiting list to get one.   

If there's any questions regarding my request please let me know.
(2018-02-27, 16:03)GHinchey Wrote: Hello there.

I'm a college student in my senior year looking to complete my research to acquire my degree.  My research project revolves around lightning strike forecasting and the verification of those forecasting products.  I'm looking for a way to access the lightning strike database this community has built over the years.  I see that I can pull down some imagery of the various strikes, but I really would like to have the raw strike data so that I may plot it versus another data source.

It looks like only contributors are allowed access to this data.  My question is do I need to have an active lightning detector to be a contributor or can I donate towards the cause?  I've been wanting a System BLUE for some time now and I'm on the waiting list to get one.   

If there's any questions regarding my request please let me know.

Hi,

here you can find the contact of Egon. You may want to contact him directly.

The following is a quote from this page:
"Our real-time and archived data can also be used for external projects.
  • The project may not represent commercial interests.